Inspirational Peloponnese
Make yourself at home
Helpful information
We value our guests, many of whom are personal friends of the Russian consul in the Peloponnese. This section contains all the information that you may need should you decide to visit the peninsula.
How to get there
The best way to get to the Peloponnese in high season is by flying charter.
Plane
A plane flight from Moscow to the capital of Greece lasts 3 hours 20 minutes. A direct flight will cost more than a change in another city. The main airports of the peninsula are located in Kalamata, Tripoli and Araxos. There are no direct scheduled flights from Russia, Ukraine and the CIS countries. During high season, one can get to the Peloponnese by charter plane. The state airport in Kalamata ("Captain Vasilis Konstantakopoulos") receives international charter flights in the summer and connects Kalamata with Thessaloniki, Athens and Heraklion year-long.
Ferry
Ferries from nearby islands, from Athens as well as the ports of Spain and Italy, come to the port of Patras, the largest city in the Peloponnese.
Bus
You can reach the Peloponnese by bus from the Athens Airport: it is 240 km to Kalamata, and 180 km to Patras. Ordering an individual transfer is possible, but it is better to rent a car.
The Peloponnese is connected with the rest of the country by regular intercity bus services (KTEL) and a developed railway network (TRENOSE). Suburban trains arrive regularly from Athens: they depart from the Athens airport to Corinth and Kiato. It is possible to change trains in Corinth to go to other cities in the Peloponnese.
Housing, money, visa
What you need to know in order not to spoil your vacation
Where to live in the Peloponnese
Comming Soon
How to get a visa
There are two ways to get a Schengen visa:

At the visa center (55 euros)

at the Consulate General of Greece (35 euros) Here is a list of documents that you need to bring with you.

If you already have a Schengen visa, then there is a high chance of obtaining a Greek visa for a period of three years. Additionally, in some cases, holders of several Greek visas are given the next one for a period of five years.
How much to take money
Comming Soon
Climate
To get a complete understanding of the Peloponnese, you need to visit at different times of the year. Different seasons have different activities, and the mood changes with the weather, moving from actively joyful to meditatively calm. You just need to choose the right season.
Summer
In early June, the Peloponnese tourist season has not yet begun, the beaches are empty, the weather is a little unstable and the sea has not warmed yet (+ 20-22 ° С). For a beach holiday, it is better to choose the west coast, as well as Messinia and Laconia, where there are many sandy beaches with shallow water and the sea warms up faster.
The best time to relax in the Peloponnese in the summer is from late June to mid-July. At this time, the sea is already warm, and the beaches are still uncrowded.
The influx of tourists begins in the second half of July; if you are a fan of festive crowds, this is the ideal time to visit.
When planning a vacation by the sea in July and August, one might pay special note to the coast of the Gulf of Corinth in the north of the Peloponnese. Thanks to the dense greenery and protection from the hot southern winds, it is always a little cooler here, and the lower humidity and constant breeze make it easier to tolerate even the most intense heat. An alternative could be the north and east coast of Argolida.
Fall
The velvet season in the Peloponnese begins in the second half of September, when the number of people decreases, and the sea becomes calm and meditatively pliant. Mild warm weather with slightly cooler evenings makes your stay calm and relaxed, allows you to forget about unnecessary problems and balance yourself. The average water temperature in September is +25 ° С, in October +23 ° С; the air in the daytime usually warms up within + 25-30 ° С.
From the second half of October, the weather becomes colder, rains begin, in the afternoon it can be windy and cool (+ 18-20 ° C). The sea is still quite warm (+ 21-23 ° C). You can see a golden autumn in the mountains during this period; particularly, in the unique oak forest of Foloi, which presents a familiar sight to the Russian eye as it drops the crimson and gold of its leaves to the green grass carpet below.
In the spring
From the end of February, the days become sunny and drier, and the daytime temperature rises to + 16-18 ° C. Almonds and magnolias begin to bloom, and the air is filled with aromas. The beginning of spring is ideal for exploring the archaeological sites of the Peloponnese; the ruins are enveloped in lush greenery. The great spring, which is akin to summer for us, begins in the second half of April. During this time, the tamarisks and eucalyptus bloom, and the roadsides turn red from poppies. If you are lucky and the hot weather lasts for several days in a row, the sea can easily warm up to + 22-23 ° C.
At this time, it is good to travel to the towns that are crowded with tourists during the summer season, to live in Monemvasia, Nafplio or Pylos. Each of them is a key player in the region.
In winter
Winter in the Peloponnese is mild, within a week there are perhaps two or three rainy days; the rest are mild, quiet and a bit sunny, as in the beginning of spring in Moscow. The average daily temperature is + 12-14 ° C, with variation of 6-7 degrees in either direction. In the mountains, the temperature is 10-15 degrees lower with snow fall, which allows the ski resorts to function. It is definitely best to celebrate the New Year or Christmas in a mountain village, where you can plunge into the traditional family atmosphere-- especially if you have friends in the Peloponnese. If you like parades and noisy fun, choose a city like Kalamata or Nafplio.
In mid-January, the real miracle begins: the Alkeonides. They are something like our Indian summer, but only in the middle of winter. The temperature rises to + 16-18 ° C and quiet, sunny weather emerges. This phenomenon usually lasts about a week; the most daring even swim. In fact, sea water in January is warmer than in March, and usually remains at around +17 ° C. In the shallow waters of the lagoons, or at locations where the thermal springs flow into the sea, the temperature can reach +20 ° С.
In February, preparations for the carnival begin. The largest, not only in the Peloponnese but in all of Greece, takes place in Patras. If you want to see an older version, you can go to one of the villages of mountainous Arcadia, and if you want to see the "Venetian Carnival", then come along to Nafplio.
Life hacks
How to enjoy the gentle sun, the gentle sea, and breathtaking views; to be inspired by the greatest works of art and not get lost along the way.
Water
Do not escape from the heat with cold carbonated drinks, which only increase thirst, or cold coffee - it dehydrates the body. Drink warm mineral water; believe us, it's worth it. The body will become well-hydrated and will not need to spend extra energy on the absorption of the drink itself.
Food
Have dinner in the evening, from 20: 00-22: 00. It is better to avoid eating gyros, hot tiropita and other hearty meals in the heat. In the afternoon, it is better to eat fruits, figs or nectarines with Greek yogurt.
Monuments
In the heat, do not try to 'attack' all at once the historical monuments, buildings and open-air museums. There is no pleasure to be had from such an intense walk or excursion, and then there will be no strength to even get to the beach in the evening.
Messimeri
'Experienced' guests don't need to be reminded that during Mesimeri (lunch time, from 14.00 to 17.00) it is better to stay off the streets. There is no question of sunbathing on the beach. You'll not only get a sunburn, but also run the risk of sunstroke. It is better to follow the example of the Greeks and wait out the peak of heat in the cool indoors.
Sun protection
Suppose you came to Greece to sunbathe and you do not have sunscreen with you (or your sunblock has run out). Treat the purchase of a new tube as responsibly as if you did before departure. That said, you don't need to buy sunblock in a counter right by the beach or in the peripter ("kiosk" in translation). Greek cities have many pharmacies: look for new sunscreen there. Even if you have already developed a tan, buy it "just in case." If the purchase costs you a little more, do not worry; the proven quality is worth it.
Made on
Tilda

ВДОХНОВЛЯЮЩИЙ ПЕЛОПОННЕС
Чувствуйте себя как дома
Полезная информация
Мы дорожим нашими гостями, многие из которых являются личными друзьями консула России на Пелопоннесе. В этом разделе собрана вся информация, которая может понадобиться, если вы решили посетить полуостров.
Как добраться
Лучший способ добраться до Пелопоннеса в высокий сезон - лететь чартером
Самолет
Из Москвы до столицы Греции можно долететь на самолете за 3 часа 20 минут. Прямой рейс будет стоить дороже, чем с пересадкой в другом городе. Главные аэропорты полуострова расположены в Каламате, Триполи и Араксосе. Прямых регулярных рейсов из России, Украины и стран СНГ туда нет. В высокий сезон добраться на Пелопоннес можно на чартерных рейсах. Государственный аэропорт в Каламате («Капитан Василис Константакопулос») в летний период принимает международные чартерные рейсы и весь год связывает Каламату с Салониками, Афинами и Ираклионом.
Паром
В порт Патры, крупнейшего города на Пелопоннесе, приходят паромы с близлежащих островов, из Афин и из портов Испании и Италии.

Автобус
От аэропорта Афин доехать до Пелопоннеса можно на автобусе: до Каламаты 240 км, до Патры 180 км. Можно заказать индивидуальный трансфер, но лучше арендовать автомашину.
Пелопоннес связан с остальной частью страны регулярными рейсами междугородных автобусов (КТЕЛ) и развитой железнодорожной сетью (ТРЕНОСЕ). Из Афин сюда идут пригородные поезда: они отправляются из Афинского аэропорта в Коринф и Киато. В Коринфе можно сделать пересадку на поезда, следующие до других городов на Пелопоннесе.

.
Жилье, деньги, виза
Что нужно знать, чтобы не испортить отдых
Где жить на Пелопоннесе
Comming Soon
Как получить визу
Получить шенгенскую визу можно двумя способами:
Если у вас уже есть шенгенская виза, то высок шанс получить греческую сроком на три года, а в отдельных случаях обладателям нескольких греческих виз ставят следующую сроком на пять лет.

Сколько брать денег
Comming Soon
Климат
Чтобы получить полное впечатление о Пелопоннесе, необходимо побывать здесь в разное время года. Разные времена года располагают к разным занятиям, а настроение меняется вместе с погодой, переходя от активно радостного к медитативно-спокойному. Нужно лишь правильно выбрать сезон.
Летом
В начале июня на Пелопоннесе сезон еще не начался, пляжи пусты, погода немного неустойчива и море еще не прогрелось (+20-22°С). Для отдыха лучше выбирать западное побережье, а также Мессинию и Лаконию, где много песчаных пляжей с мелкой водой и море прогревается быстрее.
Лучший период для отдыха на Пелопоннесе летом - с конца июня до середины июля. В это время море уже теплое, а пляжи все еще свободны.
Наплыв туристов начинается со второй половины июля, если вы любитель шумной компании, вам это понравится.
Планируя отдых у моря в июле и августе, обратите внимание на побережье Коринфского залива на севере Пелопоннеса. Благодаря густой зелени и защищенности от горячих южных ветров здесь всегда немного прохладнее, а более низкая влажность и постоянный бриз позволяют легче переносить даже сильную жару. Альтернативой может стать северное и восточное побережье Арголиды.
Осенью
Бархатный сезон на Пелопоннесе начинается со второй половины сентября, когда количество людей уменьшается, а море становится спокойным, медитативно тягучим. Мягкая теплая погода с немного прохладными вечерами делает ваше пребывание спокойным, расслабленным, позволяет забыть о лишних проблемах и прийти в равновесие с собой. Средняя температура воды в сентябре +25 °С, в октябре +23 °С; воздух днем обычно прогревается в пределах +25-30 °С.
Со второй половины октября погода становится более холодной, начинаются дожди, днем может быть ветрено и прохладно (+18-20 °С). Море все еще довольно теплое (+21-23 °С). В горах в это время можно увидеть золотую осень, например, в уникальном дубовом лесу Фолои, привычно для русского взгляда сбрасывающим багрец и золото своих листьев на зеленый травяной ковер.



Весной
С конца февраля дни становятся солнечнее и суше, а дневная температура поднимается до +16-18 °С. Начинают цвести миндаль и магнолии, воздух наполняется ароматами. Начало весны идеально подходит для осмотра археологических памятников Пелопоннеса: руины утопают в буйной зелени. Большая весна, которая для нас больше похожа на лето, начинается со второй половины апреля. В это время цветут тамариски и эвкалипты, а обочины дорог становятся красными от маков. Если вам повезет и несколько дней подряд продержится по-летнему жаркая погода, то море запросто может прогреться до +22-23 °С.
В это время хорошо путешествовать по городкам, которые в летний сезон переполнены туристами, пожить в Монемвасье, Нафплио или Пилосе. Каждый из них является ключом к региону.
Зимой
Зима на Пелопоннесе мягкая, на неделю приходится два-три дождливых дня, все остальное время мягко, тихо и немного солнечно, как в начале весны в Москве. Средняя дневная температура +12-14 °С, плюс-минус 6-7 градусов в ту или другую сторону. В горах температура на 10-15 градусов ниже, выпадает снег, что позволяет функционировать горнолыжным курортам. Новый год или Рождество, особенно если у вас есть друзья на Пелопоннесе, однозначно лучше всего праздновать в горной деревне, где можно окунуться в традиционную семейную атмосферу. Если вы любите парады и шумное веселье, выбирайте город, Каламату или Напфлио.
В середине января начинается настоящее чудо – алкеониды – что-то типа нашего бабьего лета, но только в середине зимы. Температура поднимается до +16-18 °С и стоит тихая солнечная погода. Продолжается это явление обычно около недели и дает возможность самым смелым искупаться. На самом деле морская вода в январе теплее, чем в марте, и обычно держится в районе +17 °С. На мелководье лагун, или в местах впадения в море термальных источников, температура может достигать +20 °С.
В феврале начинается подготовка к карнавалу. Самый большой, причем не только на Пелопоннесе, но и во всей Греции, проходит в Патрах. Если вы хотите увидеть более древнюю версию – можно отправиться в одну из деревушек горной Аркадии, а если хотите увидеть «венецианский карнавал», то в Нафплио.
Лайфхаки
Как насладиться нежным солнцем, бархатным морем, умопомрачительными видами, вдохновиться величайшими произведениями искусства и не потеряться по дороге.
Вода
Не стоит спасаться от жары холодными газированными напитками, от которых еще больше хочется пить, или холодным кофе — оно обезвоживает орагнизм. Пейте теплую минеральную воду, поверьте, оно того стоит. Организм будет наполнен водой и ему не нужно будет тратить лишние силы на абсорбцию того, что вы выпили.
Еда
Обедайте вечером, в 20:00-22:00. Не стремитесь есть гирос, горячую тиропиту и прочие сытные блюда в жару. Днем лучше есть фрукты, инжир или нектарины с греческим йогуртом.
Памятники
В жару не пытайтесь "атаковать" исторические памятники, сооружения и музеи под открытым небом. Удовольствия от такой прогулки или экскурсии никакого, а сил потом не останется даже на то, чтобы вечером добраться до пляжа.
Месимери
"Бывалым" гостям не стоит, пожалуй, напоминать, что в месимери (обеденное время, с 14.00 до 17.00) лучше не находиться на улице. О том, чтобы загорать на пляже, и речи быть не может. Вы не только сгорите, но еще и рискуете получить солнечный удар. Лучше последовать примеру греков и переждать пик жары в прохладном помещении.
Защита от солнца
Предположим, вы приехали в Грецию загорать и у вас нет с собой солнцезащитных средств (или ваш крем для загара уже успел закончиться). Отнеситесь к покупке нового тюбика так же ответственно, как если бы вы это делали до отъезда. Я имею в виду то, что не надо покупать крем для загара в прилавке прямо у пляжа или в периптере ("киоск" в переводе). В греческих городах много аптек. Там и ищите новое солнцезащитное средство, даже если вы уже успели подзагореть и покупаете его "на всякий случай". Если покупка обойдется вам немного дороже, не переживайте, проверенное качество того стоит.